Follow #agriculture Online

Contributed by:  Amanda Clymer

I am a self-proclaimed ag nerd and I am 100 percent okay with that. It is not unusual for me to have 15 agriculture news articles or blog posts open on my phone to be read. If you check out my Twitter, about three-fourths of my posts are about agriculture and the other fourth is about my beloved Huskers. So, I think it is rather obvious that I love agriculture. I think as an agriculturalist it is important to be in the know of what is happening in the industry and on farms and ranches.

I hope you are an avid reader of this and other pork blogs. If you are looking for more to follow, I am here to the rescue because I have compiled a list of blogs about agriculture and #realpigfarming. This list was inspired after I came across a goldmine of blogs here: http://janiceperson.com/blogs-i-read/total-list-farm-blogs/. Be sure to follow this link as the list includes blogs that range in topics, but all pertain to agriculture.

  1. Chris Chinn http://chrischinn.wordpress.com/

Chris and her husband are 5th generation farmers. Her family has a 1,500 sow farrow-to-finish farm. On her blog there is two YouTube videos to show what happens on her family farm and the processes her and her family use. Chris also touches on current topics of agriculture and the swine industry as well as other happenings as a mother on a Missouri farm.

  1. Pork Power http://porkpower.wordpress.com/

The about tab on this blog describes the group as Minnesota pork producers who also have the running itch. The blog works to increase the awareness of pork as a lean protein for exercise and health conscious individuals. The blog was started back in 2010 and it is a great way for individuals to learn about the benefits of eating pork while running the race that is everyday life.

  1. Ask the Farmers http://www.askthefarmers.com/

This blog is a collection of postings from several different farmers from across the country. The group was formed fairly recently, but they do a great job at answering questions and bridging the gap between producer and consumer. The blogs published are grouped by areas in agriculture so information for specifically hog production can be easily located.

These three blogs are just a few of many that touch on what is really happening on the farm. I believe blogs to be a great resource to share information. I, as an ag nerd, definitely get plenty of information and new ideas from them. Do you have any agriculture or #realpigfarming blogs you love to read?

Follow Amanda on Twitter: @amclymer

Leave a Reply

