Husker Traditions: Pork and the Grill

 

 

 

 

 

 

By: Courtney Schaardt

Fall is one of my favorite seasons of the year. I enjoy fall because the trees are starting to change colors, the weather is cooling down and Husker Football has begun. Growing up in Nebraska, we all have an appreciation and a lot of traditions for football Saturday. One that my family has in particular is tailgating. Tailgating can be celebrated in many different ways but we celebrate it by grilling and spending time with close friends. My dad is a meat processor so the grill was always full! My favorite pork dish would have to be all of the different kinds of sausages. We could have Smoked, Cheddar, Cheddar and Jalapeno, Swiss Mushroom, Pineapple, Chili Cheese, Apple, Pizza and the list goes on! Gathering at tailgate parties was a big deal for my family. These are memories I will enjoy forever.

Leave a Reply

