USDA Secretary Vilsack Approves Disaster Declarations for 15 Flooded Nebraska Counties; Producers Get USDA Approval

USDA Secretary Vilsack Approves Disaster Declarations for 15 Flooded

Nebraska Counties

“USDA approval has now been granted to producers in the flooded Missouri River basin counties and Lincoln County under the Secretarial Disaster Declaration”, announced Farm Service Agency State Executive Director Dan Steinkruger.  “This action opens all USDA emergency programs to corn, soybeans, wheat, forage crops, and livestock producers who suffered losses including physical losses this spring and summer due to flooding that occurred on May 1, 2011 and continuing.”  The eligible counties named are: 

               Boyd                     Cedar                   Douglas               Nemaha               Sarpy

               Burt                      Dakota                 Knox                     Otoe                     Thurston             

               Cass                      Dixon                    Lincoln                 Richardson          Washington                        

In addition, contiguous Nebraska county producers who suffered losses may be eligible to utilize emergency programs.  These contiguous counties are:

Antelope       Dawson        Gage          Johnson                 Lancaster           Pawnee         Rock     

Cuming         Dodge              Hayes        Keith                     Logan                  Perkins          Saunders

Custer            Frontier           Holt           Keya Paha        McPherson       Pierce  Wayne

These counties were designated natural disaster areas July 18, 2011, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met.  Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.  The deadline for submitting applications is March 19, 2012.  FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.  FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

USDA also had made other programs available to assist farmers and ranchers, including the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program (SURE), which was approved as part of the Food Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008; the Emergency Conservation Program; Emergency Livestock Assistance Program, and the Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program.  Interested farmers should contact their local USDA Service Center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs.  Additional information is also available online at


Steinkruger noted “USDA Secretary Vilsack met with farmers, agri-business members and others in South Sioux City, NE on June 1, 2011.  He has a personal interest in making sure that Nebraskans that suffered damage utilize USDA programs in their recovery plans.” 

*This is a news release from FSA. More news releases are available on FSA’s website at the “News and Events” link

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s