Pork Chop Scramble provides education

By Sarah Knutson, Nebraska Pork Producers Association M2009 NPPA Mentorentor

The Nebraska Pork Producers Association holds an annual Pork Chop Scramble where Nebraska pork producers, allied partners and friends of the pork industry enjoy golfing, eating fabulous barbeque and a day of fun with the NPPA and I am glad that I was a part of it.  The Pork Chop Scramble was a great way for promoting pork and I was very excited to go to this outing even though I didn’t get to golf myself.  However, it turned out that I had a lot of fun without golfing.  This was the first main event that I got to help with as a pork mentoring student so it was a great way for me to learn, promote and bond with my fellow peers.

My main job was to take pictures of the groups which I loved! Through this job, I got to talk to all of the people at the tournament.  All of these people were very nice and helpful in telling us more about the pork industry and production agriculture in general.  I also enjoyed letting pork producers that younger generations are supporting the industry even in its hard times.

However, I didn’t expect that not all of the people were pork producers.  There were people representing feed companies, packing plants and other businesses in the pork industry. Having us mentors there, these people got to learn more about pork and the production side of it.

I am planning on teaching when I graduate and I believe it is not what you know, but who you know.  So because of this, I love networking with people.  I met some people at the event and was able to set up a great learning opportunity for me to promote the pork industry. 

Overall, this was a great experience and I am glad that I participated in it.  I love meeting people and promoting my passion – agriculture.  At this event, I got to do both! Plus it was fun and I got to hang out with my good friends in the pork mentoring class.

One comment on “Pork Chop Scramble provides education

  1. […] accounts about their job shadow can be read by clicking on the titles: A Night at the Hog Show, Pork Chop Scramble provides education, NPPA Mentors spark pork industry interest at NAYI,  Shadowing experience with Steve Landon and […]

Leave a Reply

